Being the 2nd guy dancing and how to have 3Rs: at the right time, at the right place, with the right people

Soojin Jun, PharmD
7 min readDec 24, 2020

…and the 4th R: doing the right thing together.

My patient safety walk in the summer of 2020 to support #uniteforsafecare

I’ve learned that people will forget what you said, people will forget what you did, but people will never forget how you made them feel.

~Maya Angelou

Have you ever felt you were at the right place at the right time with the right people (3 R’s)? You are lucky if you have had that experience. I often thought this was coincidental, and this could be. You have heard celebrity stories that he/she was cast by meeting someone important at random places.

However, I have come to realize many can be intentional. And having and feeling 3R is an unforgettable experience. I was lucky enough to have felt this way when I attended Telluride Summer Experience in 2019, with healthcare students from all over the United States, learning about patient safety. Like the quote above, I felt that my existence in the experience was meaningful as some have told me that they would never forget about me at the conference (more on this at another time…). Dr. David Mayer (Dave), a…

--

--

Soojin Jun, PharmD

Cofounder of Patients for Patient Safety US. Owner of I am Cheese pub. Pharmacist and empathy believer. Check out www.pfps.us and www.npsb.org & be a hero!